TAST: Chevron & Eyelet (Algerian or otherwise)

I decided to have a go stitching on paper for a change so my excuse for not having the Chevron stitch for last week is that I was waiting for the paint to dry! So here they are:

Chevron Stitch

Above is Chevron stitched on watercolour paper. When I first started stitching on paper I thought “o, no, I can’t see where I’m going” but the secret soon revealed itself – make the holes first! This works really well with the Chevron stitch. I needle punched the holes, positioning the hole by eye, then stitched through them making it very easy. (and no counting!!)

Eyelet

Here is the Italian version of Algerian eyelet (??!!). Its overlapping in two colours. Now I wondered if paper could handle the whole eyelet caper but the trick is to bump up the scale and use a large needle to punch the middle holes. Of course in this case you can’t pull the thread as you can with fabric. These eyelets are 2cm square (just under the inch square). I think this kind of thing – stitching on paper – would be great for gift cards – a bit of colour, a bit of stitching and its done.

Lastly, for the purists out there. A more traditional eyelet worked on linen.

eyelet2

This for all those who, like me, have their heart into stitching. Have a wonderful week.

Leave a Reply

