Take it Further – January

Who do I admire? Hmm…the first name that came to my head was Valerie Campbell-Harding because she lifted embroidery out of the doldrums, continually expanded on her textile practice and just kept going until the end. There was no “I’m too old for this!” or stagnation in her work. I think my piece for January will be a little tribute to Val’s gift to all textile enthusiasts.

I’ve decided in order to keep it managable (and thus more likely to end up with a result), that all my pieces will be postcard size. Now for a little research by looking at all the books I have authored by her.

2 Responses to “Take it Further – January”

  1. Lynda Says:

    What an amazing subject you have chosen for your challenge. Theres an awful lot of scope there. Very much look forward to seeing what you come up with.

  2. susaneta Says:

    Thanks Lynda. I’ve moved from a tribute piece to putting into practice what I admire about her – taking one’s work and pushing the possibilities. See what happens next!

Leave a Reply

