TIF – Feb Update 1

After last week’s false start I wasn’t sure what to do. Then Linda F suggested fabric. Do I want to cut out and applique black circles? No, but perhaps cutting circular forms into a fabric is the way to go. So after playing with Lutradur the other day, I decided to give it a go on the black version of it. Here is the piece before cutting with a soldering iron. The tip of my iron is sharp but has developed a curve! 

drawingofrecords

I was quite pleased with the end result (below).

cutting

I cut out the excess to reveal the circular shapes as well as drew lines on the records for the “motion”. When I had tried some angelina fibre behind my play pieces of lutradur, it had looked quite good so I thought I’ll try that to represent the colourful labels part. Here is the angelina:

angie background

I thought a mixture of colours would be interesting. Next I laid the “records” piece on top.

angieandlutra

Eeek! Despite the lutradur being labelled “black” its actually a pale grey so off to paint it that wonderful inky black of vinyl records.

records

Getting there! However the following still needs attention. Without the light shinning on the piece, there is too much lutradur still in the way to see the angelina underneath. So I’m either going to have to make the ‘lines’ wider or re-think the background.  Stitching..as an embroiderer at heart I always feel this need to include stitch in whatever the project so I’m not sure how to incorporate stitching here. The other thing is when the piece is held up to the light it looks better, in that you can see more of the cutwork. In some ways I would like to mount it so you could see through the piece but I’m not sure how to do that. Hmm… not sure where next week will take me on this one!

6 Responses to “TIF – Feb Update 1”

  1. Helen Ann Says:

    I think it is very effective. I think the subtle effect where the lines are now will work very well (IMHO) …if you cut them wide the effect of record grooves will be lost.

  2. Linda Says:

    Ooh, this is coming along nicely! Will watch the finished product with anticipation. I like the idea of displaying it so the light shows through.

  3. Meg in Albuquerque Says:

    I like the angelina behind the records, gives it a great look. They have frames that are glass on both sides, you could put your piece in one of those and then hang it in a window, or put it where the light would shine through.

  4. Susaneta Says:

    Thanks for everyone’s comments. I like the idea of the glass frame – will have a look around to see what I can get. Do I stitch or not..Hmmm.. still thinking about it!

  5. neki rivera Says:

    clever!!
    have you considered plexiglass/perspex for displaying ?

    neki desu

  6. Susaneta Says:

    Thanks for the comment Neki. I’m not sure how to hold the plexiglass together or how I would then hang it so I would need to look around at other examples to understand this. Thanks for the suggestion.

Leave a Reply

