TIF – March update 1

Do you ever have those weeks when everytime you go to blog you have something else that “critically” needs your attention? Well this has been a week like that for me šŸ™‚ . Here is the latest. Decided to do a fabric collageĀ inspired by the work of Ailie SnowĀ . I met Ailie at the Geelong Fibre Forum last year and she’s not only a wonderful person but a fantastic textile artist. So here are my fabrics…

bluesandreds

The intention is that I will use small pieces so that from a distance the piece simply looks blue and red. But as you get closer you then see its made up of lots of different blues and reds. And then when you get even closer you notice something else too but I’ll keep that under wraps for now!

Ā Here is a rough sketch of the design:

sketchmarch

Roughly 1/2 red and 1/2 blue but I’ll probably make the blue more dominantĀ than the red to achieve a peace within the design. The curly bit is going to be done in beads at this point. Anything and everything may change however!! It all depends on how it all works out. Also I’m intending to hand stitch – not sure how long that will last as I’m always impatient for a piece to get moving along. Hand stitching will allow me to use a chunkier thread.

6 Responses to “TIF – March update 1”

  1. Jocelyn Says:

    Isn’t Ailie great! I have been fortunate enough to take some classes on visual journals at her house, and she is someone I very much admire. I am looking forward to seeing your piece – anyone who uses bright colours is also someone I admire very much! I find them so difficult to use.

  2. spiralsun65 Says:

    Thanks so much for the link to your site, Susan. I hope I wasn’t one of the things that distracted you this week! You’ll never believe this, but I too am working on something half red and half blue – mine is vertical/linear rather than swirly like yours – and I also intended to bead some of it. And I haven’t even seen Ailie’s work yet. I’m just off to have a look šŸ™‚

  3. Fiona D Says:

    It sounds fascinating – I love the idea of more being revealed as you get closer.

  4. Susaneta Says:

    Thanks for all the comments. Its great to have a bit of a discussion. I would have loved to have done Ailie’s class at Geelong but have to wait for another time. Colours can really make a difference to a piece so I’m hoping the read and blue idea comes off!!

  5. Lynda Says:

    Lucky, lucky you to be able to attend the Geelong Fibre Forum. I have been a subscriber to the Textile Fibre Forum magazine for several years and each year when they announce the forum I look longingly at all the classes available. I wish we had something on this scale over here. It always look like they are such fun too.
    Your sketch looks like the finished piece will turn out spectacular. Can’t wait to see it.

  6. Susaneta Says:

    Thanks for the comment Lynda. I’m also off to the Ballarat forum next week so I’ve got two in this year. I could do all of them but I think this will be the last splurge for a while. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

