More inchies and mayhem

Been so busy last week I couldn’t get around to posting. Firstly on Tuesday I did a design exercise with the Reddy Art Quilters which I’m part of.  The photos of great compositional cut-up exercise will appear in due course on the Reddy Art Quilters Blog . In the meantime there are some great pictures of our other activities there.

Wednesday was workshop day and a lovely group of ladies joined me to learn all about paintstiks and how to use them in various ways. We started with the easiest technique of rubbings and then moved onto blending and mixing etc. A great time was had by all. I’m looking forward to the next one, a mixed media play day with lutradur, tyvek, angelina and paperclay, more details at the Workshop site. All workshops are held in Brisbane, Australia.

Thursday was the ATADSA market day and I did a little demo of painting with a roller. Another busy day as the ladies took the opportunity to see a selection of stuff from my business Essential Textile Art. Next big day out is the Textile Art Festival in Brisbane at the Convention centre, Southbank  May 29 – 31. Its going to be a huge weekend as there is an exhibition of quilts at the West End, Handspinners and Weavers have their open day on Sunday May 31 and other things going on.

Saturday was ANZAC Day here in Australia (see the ABC’s website  for a great intoduction to what ANZAC day is all about). In the afternoon I went to 2QAQ and had a play with making inchies. Unfortunately I can’t find the camera cable to upload what I did so I’ll post all the images later.

This week its heads down and tail up to get some artwork finished and out the door. My textiles club at my daughter’s school starts tomorrow too so that another new venue for me. I’m hoping my little group are going to love the project I’ve got lined up for them.

2 Responses to “More inchies and mayhem”

  1. Ros Ward Says:

    I’ve added you to the 2QAQ bloggers, also checked out your work and really enjoyed it.
    Thanks
    Ros

  2. susaneta Says:

    Thanks Ros – always nice to know people are having a look.
    Susan

Leave a Reply

