February Fabric Update

Colours of India Swapbook

Once again starting another swapbook. The accordian book is 1.5cm square and gets passed around the Reddy Arts Textile Group and members create their own response to my theme “Colours of India”. Other themes are textures and gels, From Darkness to light, From the river to the deep blue sea so lots of very different books should result from this round.

Carved stamps

Been doing a bit of fabric painting too with some of my own stamps. I’m finding carving stamps while watching TV is both productive and fun. These are carved from my soft carve blocks and i did my first double sided one the other day. Some of the fabric printing…

Printed Fabric

I’ve heat set them so the next stage is to but a wash of colour of them and then set that and then perhaps pick up a bit of detail in metallics. See what happens next!

Deconstructed fabric printing!

I had a lot of fun using up the paint that was left. Now for a wash of olive over this one and then perhaps it will become a journal cover.

Meltee Art

Also been playing with UTEE and Opals. Both are embossing powders and both have very different characteristics. UTEE requires higher heat and is more robust and chunky when sprinkled over the melted parts. Opals melt at a lower temperature and create a “sparkle” effect when sprinkled. I mounted this on a piece of florist’s mesh which happened to match beautifully. Well, my swapbook page is done for March – its nice to be ahead for once!

Tags: , ,

Leave a comment