TAST: Buttonhole Stitch

I just love buttonhole (blanket) stitch. It is so versatile and can be used anywhere. My favourite is making buttonhole rings on long haul plane flights. The image below shows some of them – easy to do and mindless (which is important after the 7th hour in the plane..)Buttonhole rings

I use these as surrounds to shisha mirror (as per banner image) or include them in tassles or use about anything. Basically you take you favourite thread, make a cardboard ring (mine are about the size of a ten cent piece) and then buttonhole around them. Its a great conversation starter on planes!

I also like the buttonhole flowers you can make. The image below is a number of flowers stitched on a painted background. I intend to keep on building up the layers add some beads for extra sparkle.

buttonhole flowers

The image looks a lot redder on my screen than it actually is. I have used a number of different textured threads and will continue to build up the layers.

Leave a comment